Skip to main content

How to permanently close or remove a Google Business Profile listing

Written by Lucie Bréhaut

Can I delete my Google Business Profile listing?

The deletion of a Google Business Profile from your Google Account

If you no longer want to manage a Google listing, you can remove its content and managers. You will then not be able to manage its information on Google Maps / Search.

To do it, you must have access (administrator or ownership) to the Google listing and if it's the case, you will have to:

  • Sign in to the Google account associated with your Google listing and click on the Google listing.

  • Click on the 3 dots at the top right of your listing > "Remove profile content and managers"

  • If the business must appear as permanently closed, you should mark your business as permanently closed before removing your access to the listing.

If you mark your business as closed, it won't disappear from Maps right away. It will slowly disappear from search results and then be completely removed.

If you delete the Google Business Profile Account does not mean that the Google listing will be deleted on Google Maps / Search.


The deletion of a Google Business Profile from Google Maps / Search

According to Google's policies, it is not possible to delete a business listing that has operated at a specific location. This is to ensure users are aware that a business once existed at that location, even if it is no longer active today.

A business can be removed from Google only if it never existed or isn’t eligible to be on Google.

However, you can mark your listing as permanently closed, which removes it from active search results while preserving the review history.


Temporarily closed vs. permanently closed

Temporarily closed

Permanently closed

Visibility

Still visible on Google Maps

Marked with a "Permanently closed" label

Reviews

Preserved

Preserved

Use case

Renovation, seasonal closure, temporary interruption

Establishment shut down permanently

How to mark a listing as permanently closed / temporarily closed

This action can be performed directly on your Partoo platform :

  1. Go to your Partoo

  2. Find the business you want to close and click on it.

  3. Scroll down to "Advanced settings

  4. Choose the status "Permanently closed" or Temporarily closed"

  5. Click on "Save"

  6. The information will be sent to Google.

What happens after marking as permanently closed?

  • Your listing remains visible on Google Maps with a "Permanently closed" label

  • Customer reviews are preserved and remain publicly visible

  • Partoo will continue to show the listing in your account, but it will slowly disappear from search results.

Did this answer your question?